BROCKHAMPTON is the collective of artists and musicians associated with Kevin Abstract. From 2016 to now they’ve built quite a buzz on the internet and have their new show AMERICAN BOYBAND on Viceland. It’s only right that they drop their sophomore album SATURATION and it be a smash!

This squad of seven Texas consists of Kevin Abstract, JOAB, Ameer Vann, Matt Champion, Dom McLennon, Rodney Taylor, and Merlyn Wood. BROCKHAMPTON uses fresh production with crystal clear singing voices, and posse cut rap verses on almost every track. I almost don’t want to tell you which songs stand out to me because you should just listen to the whole project. I expect to hear the single “Gold” at every party this summer. The second to last song “FACE” has a similar funk-steez to Childish Gambino’s “Redbone.”

BROCKHAMPTON is a reflection of their influences. The opening track “HEAT” has a hard in your face beat reminiscent of the glory days of 2010-11 OFWGKTA. Much of their music reminds me of N.E.R.D. or post 808s and Heartbreak Kanye West. It’s safe to say that Brockhampton is blazing a trail and is the next crew to look out for. From the way SATURATION keeps you guessing, it’s hard not to come away album satisfied. 4.5/5 flies for the American Boy Band!


Instagram: PrettyAwesomeLitMusic

Twitter: @dylanisPALM


P A L M Facebook

P A L M SoundCloud

P A L M Tumblr