It’s official — by a 68 to 31 vote, the Senate has formally confirmed the nomination of Jessica Rosenworcel as the new Chair of the FCC — the first woman to lead the Commission in its 87-year history. Rosenworcel, who has been serving as Acting Chair since January, now embarks on a new five-year term.

In a statement, Rosenworcel said, “It’s a tremendous honor to be confirmed and designated as the first permanent Chairwoman of the Federal Communications Commission. I would like to thank President Biden for the opportunity. People across the country count on the FCC to support the connections they need for work, learning, healthcare, and access to the information we require to make decisions about our lives, our communities, and our country. I look forward to working with the Administration, my colleagues on the Commission and FCC staff, members of Congress, and the public to make the promise of modern communications a reality for everyone, everywhere.”

Gordon Smith, the outgoing Pres. & CEO of the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), commented, “NAB congratulates FCC Chairwoman Jessica Rosenworcel on her confirmation to another five-year term at the Commission and her historic appointment as chair. She is a dedicated public servant who has demonstrated effective leadership and expertise on telecommunications issues during her tenure at the FCC. We look forward to continuing to work with her and her fellow commissioners on ensuring a vibrant future for free and local broadcasting.”